Twelve Indigenous writers have been awarded the Native American Writers Accelerator Grant

For the second year, Indigenous writers will receive grants and professional opportunities through the Native American Writers Accelerator Grant as part of the effort to increase Indigenous representation in the media. Each of the chosen writers will receive $10,000 and professional support to help writers develop their skills and pitch their projects.

Each of these grantees also participated in the 7th Annual Native American Television Writers Lab, an eight-week television writers’ workshop sponsored by Netflix, Amazon Studios, Kung Fu Monkey Productions, Cherokee Nation Film Office and Snowpants Productions.

“This initiative is an incredible opportunity that gives Native American writers the opportunity to develop their work, strategize for their careers, and most importantly, write new texts,” said Ian Skorodin, director of strategy for the Native American Media Alliance, in a statement. . “Our first cohort of grantees have found staffing positions, produced films, and taken the next necessary steps in their writing journey.”

Never miss the biggest stories and breaking news from Indian Country. Sign up to receive our reports straight to your inbox every weekday morning.

The Native American Accelerator grant is part of a larger collaboration with Netflix. This grant is part of the Netflix Fund for Creative Equity, an initiative to address representational disparities – Indigenous people represent the greatest disparity in all spheres of entertainment. Through this, Netflix is ​​investing $100 million over the next four years in organizations whose goal is to close this representation gap and empower underrepresented communities to succeed in the entertainment industry.

Recipients of the Native American Writers Accelerator Scholarship:

Jamie Brunton (Colville/Spokane)

Kristen Calderon (Acjachemen/Kumeyaay)

Jena Carter (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma)

Benjamin Flores (Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa)

Charine Pilar Gonzales (San Ildefonso Pueblo)

Kelli Jones (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma)

Cole Randall (Muscogee Creek)

Justin Reed (Confederate Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Nation)

Sabrina Saleha (Navajo)

Eagle Smith (Tsimshian)

Kaili Y Turner (Nipmuc)

Meilani Wenska (Hawaiian descent)

More stories like this

Owanmi wins the James Beard award
‘Gather’ wins James Beard Award for Best Documentary
What’s Happening in Indian Country: June 9-17
‘You go all in’: Composer Diné de Chinle wins Pulitzer Prize for Music

About the Author

Author: Valerie Vande PanneE-mail: This email address is protected from spam. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Valérie Vande Panne is editor-in-chief of Native News Online. A long-time journalist, Ms. Vande Panne was editor-in-chief of Detroit’s alternative weekly, the Metro Times, and editor-in-chief of High Times magazine. Ms. Vande Panne was also a reporter for WGCU, the NPR and PBS affiliate in Southwest Florida, and she was a freelancer for The New York Times and Reuters. His work has also appeared in Bloomberg, Columbia Journalism Review, The Guardian, Harvard Law Today, Politico, and Salon, among many other publications. Ms. Vande Panne is a graduate and attended Harvard University.

Leave a Comment